Announcing The 2023 Absa Top Pinotage Winners

Absa Top Pinotage Winners

Celebrating Decades of Excellence in Pinotage Winemaking

The spotlight shines brightly on the world of South African winemaking as the results of the much-anticipated 2023 Absa Top 10 Pinotage Awards are unveiled. Ten exceptional wines have emerged victorious, showcasing the mastery of their craft and the diverse terroirs that contribute to their unique character. This year’s competition marks a significant milestone, celebrating over 26 years of honouring the finest Pinotage wines, proudly supported by Absa bank. The Pinotage Association was established in 1995, and will be celebrating its 28th year in November 2023.

A culmination of expertise, innovation, and artistry, the Absa Top 10 Pinotage Awards recognise the finest expressions of this quintessentially South African varietal. The winning wines have been meticulously selected from an impressive line-up of submissions, representing the pinnacle of Pinotage craftsmanship.

Diverse Excellence in Every Sip

This year’s esteemed winners represent a range of vintages, from the robust richness of 2017 to the youthful vibrancy of 2021. The competition’s breadth is reflected in the diverse origins of these exceptional wines. From the picturesque Stellenbosch to the pristine Paarl, the captivating Coastal Region to the historic Simonsberg-Stellenbosch, the windswept Swartland to the charming Wellington, each bottle embodies the essence of its unique terroir.

The ten exceptional wine producers that have triumphed in this year’s competition are:

Beeslaar Wines
Beyerskloof Wines
Fairview Wines
Francois van Niekerk Wines
Kanonkop Wine Estate
Koelenhof Cellar
L’Avenir Wine Estate
Overhex Wines International
Spier Wines
Wellington Wines

These producers have demonstrated their unwavering commitment to excellence, contributing to the rich tapestry of South African winemaking.

Expert Panel of Judges

The 2023 Absa Top 10 Pinotage Awards owe their credibility to the discerning palates of our esteemed panel of judges:

Samarie Smith
Fred Viljoen
Rodrick Moyo
Etienne Louw
Anton Swarts

Their meticulous evaluation and keen insights have ensured that only the most outstanding Pinotage wines have claimed their place in the coveted Top 10.

Top 10 Winning Wines

Beeslaar Pinotage 2019, Stellenbosch – Winemaker Abrie Beeslaar
Beyerskloof Diesel Pinotage 2020, Stellenbosch – Winemaker Anri Truter
Fairview Primo Pinotage 2020, Paarl – Winemaker Anthony de Jager
Francois van Niekerk Pinotage 2021, Coastal Region – Winemaker Francois van Niekerk
Kanonkop Pinotage 2017, Simonsberg-Stellenbosch – Winemaker Abrie Beeslaar
Stellenbosch 1679 Old Vine Pinotage 2021, Stellenbosch – Winemaker Nicholas Husselman
L’Avenir Single Block Pinotage 2020, Stellenbosch – Winemaker Dirk Coetzee
Survivor Pinotage Reserve 2021, Swartland – Winemaker Ben Snyman
Spier 21 Gables Pinotage 2018, Stellenbosch – Winemaker Johan Jordaan
Wellington Wines La Cave Pinotage 2021,  Wellington – Francois van Niekerk

A Word from the Chairman

Reflecting on this momentous occasion, Beyers Truter, Chairman of the Pinotage Association, shared his enthusiasm: “The Absa Top 10 Pinotage Awards celebrate not only the dedication of the winemakers but also the essence of Pinotage – a grape that is proudly South African and continues to captivate the world.”

Absa: A Key Patron of Excellence

The Pinotage Association extend their sincere gratitude to Absa bank for their unwavering support and commitment to the South African wine industry. Their vision has played an integral role in elevating the stature of these awards and promoting the excellence that defines our nation’s winemaking prowess.

As we raise our glasses to toast the winners of the 2023 Absa Top 10 Pinotage Awards, we also celebrate almost three decade of fine craftsmanship, innovation, and the indomitable spirit that drives the South African wine industry forward.